Feb 6: “They tried to bury us, they forgot we were seeds.”

Dear You,

I’ll never forget the day I came across this quote. I was walking down the street, and just happened to glance at the shop window.

On a piece of paper that had been sellotaped to the door, were the words

"They tried to bury us, they forgot we were seeds"

To this day, this rings volumes. It encaspulates every feeling in the struggle against oppression, terror and injustice. It reminds us that the evil win when the good do nothing.

It reminds me that we have to always speak out.

This is somthing I don’t always do: recently, there were two Trump protests in London to do with the #nomuslimban, I was contemplating going to the first one but decided I was too tired, admittedly I didn’t know about the second one.

For a second, I had to deep my actions: imagine if everybody that went that day decided they were too tired to stand and fight against the oppressor, to demand our voices to be heard. I will be the first to say it is easy to disconnect when things aren’t happening on your doorstep and that is scary. This world is so much more than just us, its the world for our future husbands, wives, kids, grandchildren, family, friends.

It’s much more than just us. 

It’s scary to speak out for the minority, it’s scary to give your all into spreading JEsus’ message of love, it’s scary going against the norm.. But we must. If we don’t who will? That is a much scarier though, and a thought I battle with to this day.

In the end, you dont want to say you didn’t find for nothing worthwhile. That you spent your days behind computer screens, watching people live their lives and ignoring the world outside us. A person that I admire due to their outspoken character is Miley Cyrus’ Happy Hippie Foundation, made me admire her even more. I have an unspoken rule with myself, once I admire someone, I be the good I see in them to inspire others, to be that seed of change.

Love,

Leave a Reply

